Eugene A. Bauer, M.D.

Chief Medical Officer
4 of 8

Dr. Eugene A. Bauer is Chief Medical Officer and a member of the Board of Directors of Evommune. From 2010 to 2020, Gene was Founder, Chief Medical Officer, and member of the Board of Directors of Dermira, a clinical stage dermatology company acquired by Eli Lilly and Company in early 2020. Prior to Dermira, Gene was President and Chief Medical Officer of Peplin, a position he held from 2008 through 2009, when Peplin was acquired by LEO Pharma. Peplin clinically focused on an innovative product (Picato®) that was approved by the FDA for use in the treatment of actinic keratosis. Prior to Peplin, he was CEO of Neosil, a development stage dermatology pharmaceutical company acquired by Peplin, in 2008. Gene is Professor Emeritus in the School of Medicine at Stanford University and past Vice President for the Medical Affairs (1997-2001) and Dean of the School of Medicine (1995-2001) of Stanford University.

Gene received his MD from Northwestern University. After 14 years on the faculty of Washington University School of Medicine, Gene became Chair of the Department of Dermatology at Stanford in 1988, a position he held for seven years prior to his becoming Dean of the School of Medicine. A National Institutes of Health (NIH)-funded investigator for 25 years, Gene served on review groups at the NIH, including as a member of the Advisory Council for the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases. He also served as a member of the Board of Scientific Counselors of the Division of Cancer Biology, Diagnosis and Centers of the National Cancer Institute. Gene is Co-founder and a past member of the Board of Directors of Connetics Corp., a dermatology company acquired by Stiefel Laboratories in 2006 and shortly thereafter by GSK.

He is a past member of the Board of Directors of Aevi Genomic Medicine, and Kadmon (acquired by Sanofi). He is a member of several honorific societies, including the National Academy of Medicine. He has also been honored by the Society for Investigative Dermatology (Montagna Award and Stephen Rothman Memorial Award), by the American Academy of Dermatology (Sulzberger Award), and by Northwestern University (Alumni Merit and Distinguished Alumnus Awards).

4 of 8